Diversity, Equality, and Inclusion Resources for Clark State: Disability

The book is designed as a general introduction to the many varied influences on the growth of this movement, including notable individuals, some of whom will be familiar to general readers, while others remain virtually unknown outside of the communities they have affected.

Lauren "Lolo'' Spencer provides a candid and real inside look into the life of being a person with a disability. This disability advocate embarks on the importance of visibility for the disabled community because representation matters!

A resource for college students with ADD or ADHD; including advice on how to design a successful academic program and achieve life-school balance while managing AD/HD symptoms. Also included is information on academic accommodations, specialized services, AD/HD coaching, medication, relationships, and healthy living.

Editor Prince-Hughes is herself a person with Asperger's Syndrome, (also termed high-functioning autism), which is a diagnosis being applied more frequently these days, to the relief of people plagued with its problems for years without explanation. Twelve individuals share their experiences.

Opposing Viewpoints collection on behavioral Disorders.

A story of fighting to belong in a world that wasn't built for all of us and of one woman's activism--from the streets of Brooklyn and San Francisco to inside the halls of Washington--Being Heumann recounts Judy Heumann's lifelong battle to achieve respect, acceptance, and inclusion in society.

In essays that range from using fashion to present as high-functioning to the depths of a rare form of psychosis, and from the failures of the higher education system and the dangers of institutionalization to the complexity of compounding factors such as PTSD and Lyme disease, Wang's analytical eye, honed as a former lab researcher at Stanford, allows her to balance research with personal narrative.

Provides basic consumer health information about physical, cognitive, emotional, and sensory disabilities, along with facts about assistive technologies and other tools and services to foster independence, and guidance for families on educational, legal, and financial concerns.

Restricting the rights of "manifestly unfit" peoples to reproduce -- Defining free and appropriate education for children of all abilities -- Affirming the rights of disabled people to participate in community life -- Ensuring equal access to public places.

Forbidden Signs explores American culture from the mid-nineteenth century to 1920 through the lens of one striking episode: the campaign led by Alexander Graham Bell and other prominent Americans to suppress the use of sign language among deaf people.

A guide book that covers everything from assessing your skills and interests to accommodating your disability on the job.

This book offers simple, straightforward guidance for the practitioner who wants to use assistive technologies to extend library access.

On the outside, Terri Cheney was a successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless façade lay a dangerous secret--for most of her life Cheney had been battling bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to make her "normal."

"One of the most influential disability rights activists in US history tells her story of fighting to belong in school and society--a powerful role model for young adults with a passion for activism"

The book is aimed at non-epilepsy specialists who treat epilepsy patients acutely or chronically who need actionable information to improve care of epilepsy and seizure patients.

Documents life in a remote Bedouin village in Israel whose residents communicate through a unique method of sign language used by both hearing and non-hearing citizens, and offers insight into the relationship between language and the human mind.

Based on the subsequent decade she has spent counseling caregivers of dementia patients, Kiper offers an entirely new approach to understanding the relationship between patients and those tending to them. In these poignant but unsentimental stories of parents and children, husbands and wives, Kiper dispels the myth of the perfect caregiver.

"Using the most current research and her approachable style, Dr. Rosier shows those with ADHD and their families how to create new thinking habits, identify unhelpful thought and emotional patterns, and apply strategies to change them"

"The new girl at school tries to befriend Andy, an autistic boy who spends every recess by himself, spinning a yellow frisbee under the watchful eye of his older sister."

Is Little Bear ignoring his friends when they say hi, or is something else going on? A discovery opens new doors in a tale that will delight kids with deafness and all children learning to navigate their world.

The well-known tale about the little girl who wanders through the woods and disturbs the house of the three bears, accompanied by diagrams showing how to form the Signed English signs for each word of the text.

"Lana is 10 years old and she is deaf. In this story she tells what it's like to be deaf, describing some of the things she uses to help her learn at school and communicate with her teachers and friends"

A girl with dyslexia, learns it takes a lot of hard work to learn to read and write and in the process finds her over special talent, writing poems.

Today’s children deal with stress, trauma, and violence. Oehlberg offers information about how these difficult times affect children physically and emotionally. More than 70 activities engage children in self-healing, empathy, and empowerment.

Teaches in sign language the numbers 0-20, 30-100 by tens, 1000 and 1,000,000.

Presents well-known Mother Goose rhymes accompanied by diagrams showing how to form the Signed English signs for each word in the poems.

Louis Braille was just five years old when he lost his sight. He was a clever boy, determined to live like everyone else, and what he wanted more than anything was to be able to read. Even at the school for the blind in Paris, there were no books for him. And so he invented his own alphabet -- a whole new system for writing that could be read by touch. A system so ingenious that it is still used by the blind community today

A girl with autism who almost never speaks demonstrates how easily she communicates with her brother and grandmother through facial expressions, gestures, flashcards, and drawings.

Drawing on research and approaches from the fields of neuroscience, child development, child psychiatry, counselling and applied behavior analysis, this text offers teachers simple strategies to manage behaviors and promote mental health and resilience in young children.

In this poignant memoir that is both laugh-out-loud funny, and sniffle inducing, Clint Edwards explores his lifelong struggle with mental illness in the shadow of his father's battle with the opioid epidemic and his mother's undiagnosed mental illness.

Aaren Snyder uses years of experience to increase mental health awareness in the black community, through captivating real-life stories and simple, down-to-earth explanations of complex psychological problems that impact the black community.

It brings together contributors from psychology, sociology, law, and medicine, as well as the humanities, to discuss issues ranging from stress, sexual assault, healing, self-care, and contemplative practice to health-policy considerations and parenting. Merging theory and practice with personal narratives and public policy, the book develops a new framework for approaching Black women's wellness in order to provide tangible solutions.

Elyn R. Saks is an esteemed professor, lawyer, and psychiatrist and is the Orrin B. Evans Professor of Law, Psychology, Psychiatry, and the Behavioral Sciences at the University of Southern California Law School, yet she has suffered from schizophrenia for most of her life, and still has ongoing major episodes of the illness.

Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time.

This book provides important information to mental health clinicians about doing treatment with sexual and gender minorities, but following evidenced-based care.

Accessible, critical and digestible, "Key Concepts in Mental Health" includes 68 entries covering the breadth of past and contemporary understanding of mental health.

Both a resource for struggling veterans and a useful tool for their loved ones or anyone looking for ways to support the veterans in their lives.

"For most people, sorrow, anxiety, and mental illness are everyday experiences. The burden of living comes down to mundane choices that we each must make--like the daily choice to get out of bed. In this deeply personal essay, Alan Noble considers how carrying on amid great suffering is a powerful witness to the goodness of life, and of God"

Your source for trustworthy recommendations on quality care of children and adolescents with mental health issues.

In PTSD, Allan V. Horwitz traces the fluctuations in definitions of and responses to traumatic psychic conditions. Arguing that PTSD, perhaps more than any other diagnostic category, is a lens for showing major historical changes in conceptions of mental illness, he surveys the conditions most likely to produce traumas, the results of those traumas, and how to evaluate the claims of trauma victims.

Leading contributors address a wide range of challenges, including babies and very young children who have a serious illness, have complex diagnoses, or have been exposed to violence or adversity in early childhood.

A member of a sketch comedy group describes growing up with OCD, discussing his pop-culture obsessions, the roles of literature and Christianity in shaping his perspective, and his visit to the OCD Institute in Massachusetts.

Part of the Oxford Cultural Psychiatry series, Urban Mental Health brings together international perspectives on urbanisation, its impacts on mental health, the nature of the built environment, and the dynamic nature of social engagement.

This handbook proposes a more integrative approach to women's depression, in particular, and mental health, for all more generally.

An expert on traumatic stress outlines an approach to healing, explaining how traumatic stress affects brain processes and how to use innovative treatments to reactivate the mind's abilities to trust, engage others, and experience pleasure.

Infused with clinical wisdom, this book describes a supportive group treatment approach for survivors just beginning to come to terms with the impact of interpersonal trauma.

Claudia Black presents a searing portrait of a broken family system, exploring how addiction and trauma develop and how their damaging repetition uproots and frequently destroys one's family tree.

Discover the intricacies of American Sign Language with this comprehensive, essential guide to learning the basics of sign language.

The Gallaudet Children's Dictionary of American Sign Language presents more than 1,000 ASL sign drawings arranged alphabetically by English terms, plus delightful color illustrations for each sign.

"Sign to Learn is the first complete introduction to appropriate sign language curriculum for hearing preschoolers. This unique, research-based resource gives you the tools you need to learn how to integrate American Sign Language (ASL) into your classroom in order to enhance the academic, social, and emotional development of children and to respectfully introduce children to Deaf culture."

Shows library programming personnel how to introduce American Sign Language into programs, explains how to work with interpreters and create marketing efforts, and offers sample programs for people of all ages.